girl with mittens
color with Yupiq names


Spike Jorgensen Scholarship

2014 Scholarship Winners Announced

The judges of the Spike Jorgensen Scholarship today announced the two winners for 2014. They were Kvichak Aspelund of Naknek and Paige McConnell of Kotzebue. Each will receive $1000 toward post-secondary education this year, renewable for up to a total of four years.

Kvichak plans to attend the University of Alaska Anchorage, with the goal of ultimately becoming a Fish and Wildlife Alaska State Trooper. Staff at Bristol Bay Borough High School described him as reliable, determined, and a credit to his community. One of his recommendations for the scholarship stated: "Mr. Aspelund represents his family, school and community in a way that very few young people do. We are all very proud of the example he sets and are excited to see what lies in his future."

Paige also expects to attend University of Alaska Anchorage, and wants to become an elementary school teacher. Carrying a 4.0 GPA in her senior year, she is noted as an exceptional student at Kotzebue High School. One of her teachers stated, "Throughout my career, there are those students who stand out, who value the learning process and transition into the post-secondary world with grace and enthusiasm. Paige is one of those students."

The judges sifted through 26 applications to choose the two winners. In response to the high quality of the applications, they wrote, "There were many well deserving students and we would like to pass on our congratulations to the two winners and all those who submitted applications. Their plans, stories, and determination provide a sense of hopefulness for the future."

Scholarship judges for 2014 were Barbara Adams, Jerry Covey, and Paul Ongtooguk. CEAAC thanks them sincerely for their effort. The Spike Jorgensen Scholarship honors the work of Dr. Jorgensen over a career of teaching and advocating for young people in rural Alaska.


Deadline for new scholarship applications: March 3, 2014
Deadline for scholarship renewal applications: June 16, 2014

The Spike Jorgensen Scholarship is established in recognition of Mr. Jorgensen and his life-long commitment to Alaska’s children as an advocate for their educational success.

Annually, the Citizens for the Educational Advancement of Alaska’s Children (CEAAC) will award two scholarships in the amount of $1,000 each to two deserving graduating seniors from Alaska school districts that are members of CEAAC as of January 1 of the year of the award (a list of member districts is at the end of this document). One scholarship is reserved for a deserving student from a CEAAC member district village that has a population of less than 1,000 residents. Only one new scholarship may be awarded per school district in any given year.

Scholarships are awarded based on the judgment of the selection committee that a student shows high achievement in the context in which he or she was educated, with an emphasis on rewarding success in schools that face challenges, and that the student expresses positive and meaningful educational goals.

The Jorgensen Scholarship may be renewed by a student recipient to support up to four consecutive years of a post-secondary career if all requirements are met on an annual basis, without a break (see “Terms and Conditions,” attached). Renewal requires full-time student status and at least a 2.5 GPA (where applicable).

Changes to the Jorgensen Scholarship program are at the sole discretion of the CEAAC Board of Directors, which reserves the right to cancel the program for any reason, including any scholarship renewals, at any time, without notice.

Download the application here:
Word version
PDF version

If possible, please submit your application as a Microsoft Word (or compatible) document or as a scanned PDF document by emailing it to:

If necessary, applications can also be submitted in hard copy to:

Spike Jorgensen Scholarship
P.O. Box 90791
Anchorage, AK 99509

Questions can be addressed to:
Information about CEAAC and our program are at:

Upon receiving an application, CEAAC will send a confirming email to the applicant. Winners will be notified by email by April 7, 2014.


2013 Spike Jorgensen Scholarship winners announced

From the judges:

The winners of the 2013 scholarship are:

1) Christine Rene from St. Mary's School District
2) Jacinta Matthias from Kotlik - Lower Yukon School District

Please pass along that there were some very good applicants this year and that the committee was impressed with the applicants. It was a difficult decision and we all wish that we had more scholarships to award to these deserving young people.


Updated 11/27/13